The most frequently-used databases
This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Three levels of age-appropriate encyclopedia content for adults, middle and high school students, and children. Includes articles, primary sources, audiovisual materials, dictionaries, a world atlas, web links, and a country comparison feature. Research tools include citation assistance and a step-by-step planner and tutorial for research and reports.
InfoBase Credo Source is a one-stop research platform combining citable reference content with instructional videos and tutorials, as well as access to other subscription databases. Credo Source is a great starting point for research.
For remote access, please go to the Library Canvas Course for further instructions.
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
For remote access, please go to the Library Canvas Course for further instructions.
This database is not searchable using Gale Power Search. Searches in this database must be done separately.
Covers today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana.
Cross-search Gale OneFile, Gale In Context, and Gale. Subjects include: agriculture, biography, business, communications and mass media, criminal justice, culinary arts, diversity studies, economics and theory, environmental studies and policy, fine arts, gardening and horticulture, gender studies, global issues, health and medicine, hospitality and tourism, information science, leadership and management, military and intelligence, news, nursing and allied health, opposing viewpoints, physical therapy and sports medicine, pop culture studies, popular magazines, psychology, religion and philosophy, science, U.S. history, war and terrorism, and world history.
The following databases are not searchable using Gale Power Search. Searches in these databases must be done separately:
Gale Health & Wellness
Gale Literature Resource Center
Gale Science (Gale Interactive)
This e-book collection includes a wide range of subjects—from ancient history and biographies, to mathematics, animals, nature, and more. This is a great place to start researching a topic!
For remote access, please go to the Library Canvas Course for further instructions.
JoVE publishes the leading peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal. Articles consist of high-quality video demonstrations and detailed text protocols which facilitate scientific reproducibility and productivity.
SM enjoys JoVE Unlimited, which gives students access to Research and Education videos and materials.
For remote access, please go to the Library Canvas Course for further instructions.
A collection of Journals, primary sources, and books from the fields of art, literature, language, science, health, business, mathematics, statistics, and music.
For remote access, please go to the Library Canvas Course for further instructions.
An interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature.
For remote access, please go to the Library Canvas Course for further instructions.
Full-text of The New York Times from 1985- searchable as a standalone file.
For remote access, please go to the Library Canvas Course for further instructions.
These are digital editions of reference books that are a part of the St. Mark's Library collection. Physical books are located in the Frelinghuysen Reference Room or in the nonfiction section of the collection. Call numbers begin with REF.
For remote access, please go to the Library Canvas Course for further instructions.